January Memories

Corel Professional Photos CD-ROM. Great Works ...

Image via Wikipedia

January is the time of year I enjoy going to places like the Jewett City Flea Market, taking my time and browsing through the boxes of the old all-occasion cards, from the 1950’s and 1960’s, booths and booths  memorabilia and antiques, looking for that special find that means something special to me, maybe look at the old linens, handkerchiefs, that have that special look and feel that offers to me a memory in my mind of something I enjoy having in my life, to purchase and bring home with me.  A little antique store in Taftville, CT, Johnny Kielbasa’s has an array of collectibles to look at.  One, that caught my eye, was a Currier & Ives print, that reminds me of my Aunt Lillian’s and my Grandma’s home when I was a child.  Currier & Ives seemed to be able to capture that feeling I had as a child visiting in Franklin, CT at Christmas time and in the Winter and where I grew up in Occum.  My mother had a Currier & Ives calendar when I was a little girl, and I would look up close at the picture of the winter scene in January, a new year, and study how he captured the feelings and colors, of my winter scene in my eyes as I stepped outside my front yard on a cold Winter’s day.  The colors at dusk in the winter sunset, the the contrast of the white snow, and dark branches of the bark on the trees with the soft shades of the sunset in the background  the light hitting the object of a colonial home or bank of snow, with soft golden, lavender, tones with hues of soft pink, deep green pine  trees  foreground,  setting forth a sense of forbidding calm in the outdoor winter scene.  Currier & Ives captured to me that feeling I had as a child when I looked about outdoors at the winter scene before me.  In January, I visit my favorite shops in this New England area to purchase such an item as a Currier & Ives print.

About Maria Jolicoeur

Hello, my name is Maria Jolicoeur, I live in Norwich, Connecticut, I am a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution of 1776, Nationally, located in Washington, D.C., a State of Connecticut DAR member and locally a Faith Trumbull Chapter member, which I am the chairperson for American Heritage, Conservation, and I am the publicist. The Faith Trumbull Chapter received an award for Conservation for merit and minutes recited each at each monthly meeting. My ancestor, Basil Prather, born in Maryland, served in the militia in North Carolina in the Revolutionary War of 1776, he was married to Cloe Robinson and they had many children, their son,William, I am a direct descendant. The DAR is a woman's organization with it's members having proof of an ancestor who served in the Revolutionary of War of 1776, we promote education, patriotism, and historic preservation. I have a show, entitled, 'Let's Talk About History', through my involvement as Faith Trumbull DAR publicist, which airs every other Friday at 8:00 p.m., on channel 14(Comcast). I enjoy collection antiques and I have a few antique dolls in my doll collection. I enjoy viewing architecture. I sang in choir at church, locally, and a few arias I sang solo were; Motzart's Mass in C minor Motzart's and Handel's MESSIAH, along with Christmas carols.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

