Some of my interests

Hello, my name is Maria Jolicoeur.  I am a member of the National Daughters of the American Revolution of 1776, with our main headquaters located in Washington, D.C., on 1776 St.  I am also a State of Connecticut D.A.R. member and, also, locally, a Faith Trumbull D.A.R. member located at 42 Rockwell St. in Norwich, CT.  We are a womens organization founded in 1890.  Women eighteen years of age and older who can trace their ancestry to someone who served or assisted in the Revolutionary War of 1776 are eligible for membership.  I am the chairperson for American Heritage, Conservation, and D.A.R. publicist for my chapter.  My chapter, Faith Trumbull, won a certificate of merit for conservation from National.  The D.A.R. promotes education and patriotism.  Our symbol is the spinning-wheel.  I have my own show, entitled ‘Let’s Talk About History’ which airs locally on channel 14, the 1st and 3rd Friday of each month @ 8:00p.m..  My great-great grandfather Allen Prather served in the Civil War as lawyer at the age of 23 and lieutenant colonel in an infantry from Indiana, he was given a war pension after sustaining pemanent injury after stepping on a shell in South Carolina.  He is buried in Arlington Cemetary.  I have also been fortunate to sing locally at Chrismas events and I have had the pleasure of singing Mozart’s Mass in C minor, Exsultate Jubilate, Requiem and  Bach’s St. Matthew Passion

About Maria Jolicoeur

Hello, my name is Maria Jolicoeur, I live in Norwich, Connecticut, I am a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution of 1776, Nationally, located in Washington, D.C., a State of Connecticut DAR member and locally a Faith Trumbull Chapter member, which I am the chairperson for American Heritage, Conservation, and I am the publicist. The Faith Trumbull Chapter received an award for Conservation for merit and minutes recited each at each monthly meeting. My ancestor, Basil Prather, born in Maryland, served in the militia in North Carolina in the Revolutionary War of 1776, he was married to Cloe Robinson and they had many children, their son,William, I am a direct descendant. The DAR is a woman's organization with it's members having proof of an ancestor who served in the Revolutionary of War of 1776, we promote education, patriotism, and historic preservation. I have a show, entitled, 'Let's Talk About History', through my involvement as Faith Trumbull DAR publicist, which airs every other Friday at 8:00 p.m., on channel 14(Comcast). I enjoy collection antiques and I have a few antique dolls in my doll collection. I enjoy viewing architecture. I sang in choir at church, locally, and a few arias I sang solo were; Motzart's Mass in C minor Motzart's and Handel's MESSIAH, along with Christmas carols.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

